LibGuides: Management: SWOT and PESTEL Resources

STRATEGY

SWOT Analysis

Find published SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) analysis in the following databases. Remember not every company will have a published SWOT analysis available.

ProQuest One Business
Using the Advanced Search, add the company name to the first box and click on the drop down box that says Anywhere and choose Title. Combine that on the next line with SWOT; choosing Title again. Search.
Business Insights Global
Select Companies from drop-down box; choose SWOT Reports. Search for company within results.

EBSCO Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find SWOT Analysis contained in MarketLine Reports.
Click on Company Profiles. Enter company name (e.g. McDonald's) and browse reports.
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Using the Guided Search form:
* select Company Info from the What are you interested in? box
*type in the word swot along with a company name (e.g. Kroger) in the Search in all Company Information box
*select All company information from the drop-down list in the … and show me box
*click the Search button

Databases for Industry Information

Business Insights: Global
Choose Industry tab at the top, or enter industry name or NAICS code in the search box and choose industry from the drop down menu.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Choose the Encyclopedia of American Industries. Get 2-3 page reports on industries when you search by SIC or NAICS numbers, or browse by industry listings.
Mergent: First Research
Includes nearly 500 industry profiles.
ProQuest Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports
Country-focused industry reports and regional insights with SWOT analysis, market trends, forecasts, & competitive data; data covers 53 countries, 27 industries, and 25 regions.
ProQuest Data Reports: Industry Reports, Market Research, Company Research
The database includes Business Monitor International Industry Reports (BMI), country-focused industry reports and regional insight with SWOT analyses; it covers 53 countries, 27 industries, and 25 regions.
ProQuest Just Series Industry Reports
The database includes industry-focused articles, company profiles & SWOT Analysis of companies in a specific industry; it covers food, style, beverage, and the auto industries.
Value Line Online
Access to a one-page industry summary. Choose Markets tab at the top, Choose Industries tab.

Resources for a PESTEL Analysis

Nexis Uni
PESTEL factor information is provided for countries. At the landing page, select PUBLICATION and enter "United States" for example, in the search box. Begin typing PRS Group Political in the Publication box and then select PRS Group Political Risk Service that appears below the box and click Search.
more...less...
Select NEWS instead of PUBLICATION to search for articles on companies, industries, and individual PESTEL factors.
ProQuest One Business
Browse Featured Business Content including Country Reports.
OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-Operation & Development
Access to the OECD Economic Outlook and OECD Economic Surverys
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States
Statistical Abstract of the World
Collection of the statistical abstracts of approximately 40 countries.
Country Commercial Guides
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.
U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census Bureau platform that provides data on the U.S. people and economy: population, education, business, employment, health, housing, income and poverty, economy, families and living arrangements, and international trade..
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that studies "U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends."
Coface Group: Country Risk
Risks associated with doing business in a country.
SEC - EDGAR
Search for company filings by company name, ticker, etc.

Public Company Websites. Google search the company name and "investor relations." This will often provide links to Annual Reports; financial reports such as 10-K, 10-Q, and 8-K; and corporate social responsibility reports.

PESTEL Analysis

A PESTEL analysis is a tool used to identify important external (macro-environment level) forces that could impact an organization, company or industry. This analysis helps business decision-makers understand the current and potential factors surrounding and influencing an organization. With this understanding, the company is better positioned to exploit opportunities, defend against threats, or identify a more suitable market.

Political - Factors to consider include government policies, leadership, and change; foreign trade policies; internal political issues and trends; tax policy; regulation and de-regulation trends.

Economic - Factors to consider include current and projected economic growth; inflation and interest rates; job growth and unemployment; labor costs; impact of globalization; disposable income of consumers and businesses; likely changes in the economic environment.

Social - Factors to consider include demographics (age, gender, race, family size); consumer attitudes, opinions, and buying patterns; population growth rate and employment patterns; socio-cultural changes; ethnic and religious trends; living standards.

Technological - Factors to consider include technology infrastructure, innovation, uptake/adoption, R&D activity, technology incentives.

Environmental - Factors to consider include pollution targets; sustainability initiatives, carbon footprint targets, environmental policy, climate change.

Legal - Factors to consider include health and safety regulations; labor laws; consumer rights and laws; product labeling and product safety; antitrust laws.

Global Business Information

Visit the Global Business Information LibGuide for more country information.