Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Management: Entrepreneurship

Library Databases

Look up Books by and about Business People

Michigan Economic Development Corporation

New Books

Books on Setting up a Small Business

GENERAL REFERENCE:

REF HD 62.7 .B865           Business Plans Handbook                 32 Volumes

The Gale Virtual Reference Library database contains many of the ebook versions, as does the Small Business Resource Center database.
This multi-volume set is a  tremendous resource for writing business plans for a wide variety of businesses.  Includes   an executive summary, objectives, mission, company ownership, company history, services & products, company location and facilities, products and services, product and service description, sales literature, future products and services, market analysis, industry analysis, competitive forces and buying patterns, main competitors, keys to success, market forecast, business strategy and implementation, marketing strategy, strategic alliances, organization structure, management team, personnel plan, financial analysis, and more. Volumes 1--27 can be found online in the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.

 REF HD 62.7 .S62               The Encyclopedia of Small Business                 3 vols.

There is an online ebook.
Subjects covered are the following:  absentee ownership, administrative guidelines, advertising, business opportunities, buying a business, compensation policies,  computerization, copyright, company relations, credit, delegation, crisis management, distribution, diversification, employee benefits programs, employee training, expansion capital, ethics, family run business, expansion, financial control, franchise opportunities, franchising, government contracting, hiring employers, home-based businesses, idea protection, ideas and trends, information systems, insurance, inventory, leadership skills, leasing, legal form, legal matters, licensing, location, management by objection, management for productivity, market research, marketing plan, meetings and the entrepreneur, negotiation techniques, organizational structure, patents, performance evaluation, personal evaluation, presentations, pricing, production control, proprietary information, public offerings, public relations, purchasing guidelines, record keeping, SBA loans, sales, security, selling a business, startup financing, strategic planning, stress management, taxes, telemarketing, team concept, terminating employees, time management, trade shows, venture capital

REF HD 62.7 .S624            Small Business Profiles                       2 vols.
These volumes cover over 120 businesses and include topics such as Costs and Profits, Financing, Franchise Opportunities, Layout and Design, Staffing, Marketing, Advertising, Licenses and Insurance, and a Bibliography of Books

 REF HD 62.7 .F35              How to Set Up Your Own Small Business                      2 vols.
Covers market research, sales forecasting, site selection, financing, legal needs, getting started, advertising publicity, sources of supply, bookkeeping, home based business, business policies, selling, insurance, self improvement, managing people, business plans, pitfalls & helpful hints, franchising, computer applications, the Internet.

REF KFM 4407.Z9.H36       How to Start a Business in Michigan, 3rd edition, 2002
S
tart-up procedures, explanations of laws and  regulations, and  licensing procedures

 REF KFM 4410 .A65.M5      Michigan Business Formbook

 REF HD 4928 .N62 .U6353  The Handbook of Employee Benefit

REF TX 911.3 .M27 .B76 2003  The Restaurant Manager’s Handbook

More Resources

Please visit our Entrepreneurship research guide for more resources.

Web Sites: Starting a Business