LibGuides: Finance Information: Investment Information

FAQs

Walsh Tutorials

Trading for a Living

The New Trading for a Living: Psychology, Discipline, Trading Tools...
The best-selling trading book of all time by Dr. Alexander Elder—updated for the new era.

Morningstar Publications

This e-book is a courtesy copy from Morningstar. it is a guide for new and experienced investors to help with personal finances. From creating a budget, merging finances with a significant other, to planning for retirement, the guide provides information for individuals at every stage of life.

Investing for the Long Run
This is a very detailed report of 119 pages.

Morningstar Tutorials

These tutorials will help you search effectively.

Morningstar Investment Research Center Tutorial
View a numberof tutorials to help you make the best use of the database.
Morningstar User's Guide
View a 28 page guide on using Morningstar.

Government Publications

Basics of Mutual Funds
Explains the basics of mutual fund investing, how mutual funds work, what factors to consider before investing and how to avoid common pitfalls"
Asset Allocation
Saving and Investing - A Roadmap to Your Financial Security Through Saving and Investing
Knowing how to secure your financial well-being is one of the most important things you’ll ever need in life. You don’t have to be a genius to do it. You just need to know a few basics, form a plan, and be ready to stick to it. No matter how much or little money you have, the important thing is to educate yourself about your opportunities.
Saving and Investing for Students
This 36 page brochure provides tips on creating a financial plan and assessing your current and future financial needs.

Retirement Planning

U.S. Department of Labor: Taking the Mystery Out of Retirement Planning
"This site is a comprehensive guide to retirement planning that includes interactive worksheets that you complete as you read each chapter. It is an informative companion for exploring what is often a stressful subject. Users can find information about Social Security, investing, and budgeting in retirement. An excellent list of links to other free websites is also included."
Ballpark Estimate
The Ballpark E$timate is an easy-to-use, two-page worksheet that helps you quickly identify approximately how much you need to save to fund a comfortable retirement. The Ballpark E$timate takes complicated issues like projected Social Security benefits and earnings assumptions on savings, and turns them into language and mathematics that are easy to understand.

Databases

Mergent Online: Company Data This link opens in a new window Financial information on US and international companies; provides annnual reports, as well as detailed company reports.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window Access financial information on thousands of mutual funds

ValueLine Online
Provides stock reports with a 350 word analyst summary
A to Z List of All Online Databases

Web Sites for Investment Information

Big Charts - Current and historical quotes, charts, and research on over 34,000 funds

Bond Investing - MarketWatch Bonds - A guide for developing a bond portfolio.

Smart Bond Investing

An Investor's Guide to Municipal Bonds

Bloomberg News: World Market and Financial News

Business Week - Daily Briefing offers news and market insights

SEC Invest Wisely: An Introduction to Mutual Funds

SEC: Investor.gov - SEC Office of Investor Education and Advocacy, Investor.gov is your online resource to help you invest wisely and avoid fraud.

Chicago Board Options Exchange - Information on the options market, market data, news, and bulletins

CNNmoney - Stock or fund quotes, company snapshots, mutual fund performance information

CNNmoney: Markets and Stocks - Information on international and domestic financial markets, interest rates, and commodities

Daily Stocks - Search Engine for Stocks and Funds

EDGAR SEC Database of Corporate Information

Forbes 2013 Investment Guide

Forbes Mutual Funds