Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Practicing Academic Integrity by Lester and Lester
Start with General Tutorials
If you are a new student and don't know where to begin finding resources, view this handout on how to log into the portal to find books and articles.
Grammar and Mechanics Exercises
Excelsior Online Writing Lab
Interactive multimedia activities, quizzes, videos, etc...to help writers understand important concepts about writing.
University of Richmond Writing Web
The site has a wealth of information on writing, citing, grammar, punctuation, and how to start a research paper.
Writing Center Handouts (UNC)
The page is divided into 4 categories: (1) Writing the paper, (2) Citation, style, and sentence level concerns, (3) Specific writing assignments/contexts, and (4) Writing for specific fields.
Starting Your Research
An excellent database to start your research is the user-friendly ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete database. It is a favorite of students. For current events, you can't beat the FACTIVA database. Other databases to try are EBSCO Business Source Elite and Nexis Uni (formerly Academic Lexis Nexis). General OneFile is a general interest database that can be used to find articles covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, etc.
For tutorials, other than the ones under the Database Tutorials tab (located at the top of the page), select the first link under Finding Articles or go to http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/comtutor
Any time you have questions, the librarians love to help you; call 248.823.1228.
These databases will help you locate magazine, journal, and newspaper articles to complete your research assignments.
If you don't know how to get to the library databases, view the tutorial, Logging into the Library Portal, under Start with General Tutorials, located on the left hand side of the page.
A-Z List of All Online Databases
This link takes you to the portal to view all available library databases, not just the ones for COM students.
ABI/Inform Complete: ProQuest
ProQuest is a favorite database for students, and many students make it the first one they use. It is user friendly and retrieves articles on business topics.
Full text academic journals covering the social sciences, education, humanities, psychology and more.
Communications and Mass Media Collection
Current information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communication field.
EBSCO Business Source Elite EBSCO provides full text articles to business and management topics. Many students go to it after searching ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete.
You will find the most current articles in newspapers and magazines on business news in FACTIVA.
Global Issues in Context
Supports global awareness and provides a global perspective on issues.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
Academic provides magazine and newspaper articles, as well as transcripts from tv, radio, and Congressional hearings.
Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
if you want to read both sides of a business or social issue, first go to the Opposing Viewpoints in Context database.
For additional information from the web, try the Internet web site, ProCon.org database.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
The database features contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience
Points of View Reference Center
Presents multiple sides of over 400 issues.
Discusses both sides of over 30 social issues
What is the difference between a magazine and journal article?
How do I find scholarly or peer-reviewed articles?
How do I get the full text for an article when only the abstract is given?
The E-Journals database will help you. More.
Can I email articles to myself to avoid printing charges?
Yes, many of the databases have the email feature allowing you to email articles.
Can I use the cite feature on databases to generate APA citations?
Yes, but be aware that the cite feature generated in the database may not be accurate. EBSCO Business Source Elite is usually the most accurate. For accuracy in citing articles, check the rules for citing in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (REF BF 76.7 .P83 2019) or the library handouts.
What do I do if I cannot find good information on my topic?
Call 248.823.1228 and ask to speak to a reference librarian or email firstname.lastname@example.org with your questions. You can also visit the library for a one-on-one discussion with the reference librarian on duty.