The Finance & Economics section links to a number of topics: core finance, valuation and investing, venture capital and capital markets, credit crisis, Paulson Bailout, Geithner Plan, currency, current economics, banking and finance, macroeconomics, microeconomics, Greek debt crisis.
l Logging into the Library Portal for Database Access
l Finding Full Text Articles- Locate which online database indexes the full text of specific magazines, journals, or newspapers.
l ProQuest ABI/Inform Global provides access to full text magazine and journal articles on business and management topics.
l EBSCO Business Source Elite provides full text articles on a wide variety of business topics. The Company Profiles section provides company reports which include history, key employees, major products and services, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, list of top competitors of subsidiaries.
l Factiva –The database provides business articles from thousands of leading business and management journals, as well as company financials and reports.
Tutorial: Factiva Headline Search for Articles (under construction)
For more information on searching the Factiva database, check out the vendor’s flash tutorials at http://www.proquest.com/pdpq/factiva
l First Research is a Dun & Bradstreet database covering 700 industry profiles that are updated quarterly. There is also information on state economics, including employment, unemployment, status of state industries, local real estate, etc.
l FIS Mergent Online Company Data is one of the best databases to use for company research. It provides company financial reports and annual reports on over 10,000 public companies that are traded on the New York, American, and NASDAQ stock exchanges.
Tutorial: Getting Predefined Company Reports(Choose from a list of reports with different contents)
l General Business File ASAP provides full text articles on companies, industries, and products, as well as analyst reports.
l LexisNexis Academic provides full text articles on business and legal topics, as well company snapshot reports and downloadable financial tables.
l Standard and Poor’s NetAdvantage is one of the major databases to use for investment research. It provides information on company stocks and industries, bonds, and mutual funds.
l ValueLine Online is a highly respected research database which includes rankings and analyses on the performance of thousands of stocks. The database also includes industry information, Edgar filings, and industry peer group lists.