Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Operations Management: Citing in APA Style

Practicing Academic Integrity by Lester and Lester

COM students are required to read this article by Lester & Lester on Academic Integrity.

 

 

Plagiarism

These web sites discuss plagiarism and include examples.

Excelsior OWL - Avoiding Plagiarism
Take the tutorial to better understand plagiarism

Plagiarism.org

Understanding & Preventing Plagiarism

Washington State University Tutorial on Plagiarism

Official APA Manual

7th Edition of the Publication Manual book cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association was published in October 2019, and is now available in the library.  REF BF 767.P83 2019

Some departments and instructors may still be using the 6th edition.  Please consult your instructor if you are unsure which edition to use.

DOI in APA Citations

The doi, digital object identifier, is a unique alphanumeric string assigned to an article or electronic book.  The publisher assigns a doi when an article or e-book is published and made available electronically. All doi numbers begin with a 10 and contain a prefix and a suffix separated by a slash. You can use the doi of an article in place of the phrase "Retrieved from _______ database.   More information.

APA Style Reference Guide with Doi: Northern Michigan University

Free DOI Lookup at Crossref.org


 

Library Guide, Citing in APA, 7th Edition

Official APA Websites, 7th Edition

More APA Examples

Library Guides on Citing in APA, 6th Edition

Official APA Web Site, 6th Edition

More Web Sites on APA Documentation, 6th Edition

APA Citation Style Guidelines: 40 page guide from Cengage
http://www.cengage.com/resource_uploads/downloads/0495799661_216547.pdf

APA In Text Citations
Video from Excelsior OWL

APA Help for In-Text Citation
http://libguides.css.edu/c.php?g=41681&p=265025


 

APA Tutorials, 6th Edition

The Basics of Sixth Edition APA Style
https://apastyle.apa.org/6th-edition-resources/basics-tutorial

Tim McAdoo on YouTube has a tutorial: How to Find a Doi
Even though, only EBSCO and FirstSearch examples apply to us, the tutorial is still useful.
http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2009/12/how-to-find-a-doi.html

APA Citations: University of Maryland University College
https://sites.umgc.edu/library/libhow/apa_tutorial.cfm?_ga=2.261662276.850662216.1571155799-1136441182.1571155799

APA Tutorial: Universities Libraries, University of Southern Mississippi
‚Äčhttp://lib.usm.edu/help/tutorials/apa_tutorial/

Cite Feature in Databases

Some of the databases have a cite feature which will generate the APA citation for you. Be aware that the citation can have errors. EBSCO Business Source Elite tends to be the most accurate, with ProQuest next.

EBSCO Business Source Elite and ProQuest ABI/Inform databases use the Cite link.  The Gale databases use the Citation Tools link. Examples of Gale databases are Academic One File, Expanded Academic ASAP, General OneFile, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Small Business Collection.

Using the Web to Generate Citations

There are web sites that help you
generate citations, but it is possible
to make errors if you enter the 
information in the wrong box.

Citation Machine 
Provides a fill-in form to help you write
citations from books and periodicals
in APA style

Knight Cite
Helps you generate citations in APA
by entering information in boxes

NoodleTools Express
Click on NoodleTools Express to 
generate citations in APA style 
and follow the guided directions

FAQs, 6th ed.

APA lists answers to questions that users send in.