LibGuides: Global Business Information: Home

Library Databases

ABI/Inform (now ProQuest One Business)
ProQuest allows you to search by location and there are a number of languages to choose from.
Business Insights: Global
This database includes case studies, statistical data sources, news articles, academic journals, and topical reference materials organized by country, company, and industry.
Factiva
Factiva provides current news for any area in the world. Just go to the "Search" option at the top of the page, and look on the left column for the "region" option. You can then choose an area of the world you wish to search.

EBSCO Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find full text articles about business related topics, both domestic and global. There are various language options as well as sorting search results by geography.

International Labour and Employment Compliance Handbook Online
This online resource covers employment and labour laws in sixteen countries
International Journal of Comparative Labour Law and Industrial Relations
Major events and innovative practices in labor law, industrial relations and human resource management are covered

World Bank Publications

The World Bank has made available its books, articles, reports, and working papers.

Open Knowledge Repository

Blogs and Studies

GlobalEdge Blog: Small Businesses Expand Overseas
Research study on the effect of multinationality and firm performance
Firm Specific Assets, Multinationality and Financial Performance: A Meta-Analytic Review and /theoretical Integration by Tomas Hult, et. al., published in Academy of Management Journal, 2011, 54(1), 47-72)
OECD Study of SMEs
This OECD article,Small Business, Job Creation and Growth, Facts, Obstacles and Best Practices, discusses small and medium-sized enterprises and their role in creating 60-70% of jobs in OECD countries. There are efforts by some governments to increase this percentage;. Reliable international data on SMEs is hampered by different reporting classifications.
Ebay: Small Businesses are Boosting Their Exports Through Our Platform
Article from the Huffpost Business

Business Etiquette

Country Insights
Culture Crossing
Culture Crossing LLC, an international consulting company, provides these country guides covering cross-cultural etiquette.
International Business Etiquette
Guidelines for Business Etiquette

General Starting Points

Encyclopedia of the Nations

Global Edge - Why Study International Business?

FITA Country Information

Background Notes Home Page: U.S. Department of State
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets

Library of Congress Country Studies/Area Handbook

Library of Congress Global Gateway: World Cultures & Resources

Country Briefings: Economist.com - News, country profiles, economic data, and forecasts

Financial Times; Country and Industry Surveys

International Database (IBD): U.S. Census Bureau

Country Commercial Guides - Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.
World Bank Countries
World Bank Regions

World Bank: Doing Business - Business regulations in 185 economies are presented.

Electronic Embassy

Embassy World

CIA World Factbook

Country Profiles from the Electronic Development and Environment Information System Profiles of Agriculture, Environment, Economics, Gender, Politics, Education, and Health.

Foreign Information by Country: University of Colorado at Boulder

Foreign Labor

GlobalEdge - Country insights for 196 countries, global resources and market potential indicators

International Statistical Agencies listed by the U.S. Department of Labor

NationMaster Country Comparisons - Generate maps and graphs of statistical information

World Country Profiles: BBC News

The Globalist - An online publishing service that covers globalization in its free daily magazine.

U.S. Census Bureau: Statistical Agencies

UNTCAD UN Conference on Trade and Development - Fact sheets on 192 economies

World Statistics Pocketbook 2020: UN - Annual compilation of key economic, social and environmental indicators, presented in one-page profiles covers 217 countries.

Export Tutorials

GlobalEDGE has developed interactive "Export Tutorial." which guides users through many exporting topics to help in the decision making process before engaging in international trade. Information categories include the following: Export Readiness, Government Regulations, Financial Considerations, Sales and Marketing, and Logistics.

Export Tutorials

Newsletters

Academy of International Business Newsletter