Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access book titles, e-books, journal titles.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Read the full text of over 120,000 e-books.
Books on Writing
Write Like a Pro by
Call Number: (PE1115.H39 2016 )
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
"For those looking to become great business writers, this practical guide supplies clear instruction and examples of how to organize thoughts into written form, impart information with pinpoint accuracy, persuade, and hold the reader's interest: in short, to use language to get what you want. Presents a clear, no-nonsense guide to excellent writing using easily grasped tricks and techniques employed by top writers Encapsulates these key writing methodologies in ten basic techniques, each broken down into ten actionable steps Provides an immediate "take-away" and valuable, practical advice for becoming a better writer in each paragraph Describes and demonstrates the steps in a way that is memorable and even enjoyable to learn"-- Author
Writing Well in the 21st Century by
Call Number: LB 2369 .S65 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-10
This guide provides students, career-builders, and professional writers with the basic elements needed for writing in the 21st century. It fully explains, and links, the five essentials of good writing: punctuation, grammar, fact-checking, style, and voice. Throughout history technology has changed both language and writing. Today in the digital age, language and writing are changing at a phenomenal pace. Students, career-builders, and professional writers need this guide that reviews those changes and connects the essentials for creating good writing in the digital age. The book gives writers the tools needed today. Among other essentials, the book: Resolves comma issues by explaining the Open and Close Punctuation systems (writers select which system to use in their writing) ; Clarifies active and passive voice verbs and advocates using strong, specific verbs in writing ; Provides guidelines for choosing credible online websites when searching for resources ; Examines attributes of essentials that contribute to a writing style and urges a critical review of verbs ; Connects elements that combine to create a voice in a written piece. Overall this guide gives readers the basics they need to know to create well-written documents for school, work and in their professional writing. -- From publishers website.
How to Write Anything by
Call Number: PE1408 .B8573 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
The book provides a common-sense approach on how to write anything, from college applications to baby announcements, and includes information on how to appropriately craft a message, choose the right words, and the select the most appropriate medium.
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing by
Call Number: HF5726 .W55 2010 E-book
Publication Date: 2010
The book serves as a guide to style, grammar, punctuation, usage, construction, and formatting. It includes sample letters, memos, reports, abstracts, policies, proposals, and other business documents.